salt vs. fresh fly lines

falconer57

Reaction score
So I was in a discussion with a local vendor about putting line on a reel. He said that I could get a freshwater 6 weight line on that backing but there was not enough room for a saltwater line. I said what? He said that saltwater lines of the same weight are fatter than freshwater lines. So if each line is labeled 6 weight, how can one be fatter? Don't they measure the lines by weight in grains?

brianrap

Reaction score
Certain saltwater lines are intended for use in warmer climes, water and different wind conditions. They may also have longer heads (which is a wider diameter) due to winds and different types of flies so they use different core materials. A saltwater line is often stiffer than a freshwater line, which may result in a different diameter of the lines due to the different cores. Saltwater lines are also sometimes longer than freshwater lines.

denver1911

Reaction score
I have no knowledge of the question, but wanted to point out that, if a designer were so inclined, a line to float in salt water could be made thinner than a line to float in fresh water. Salt water is denser.

Hirdy

Reaction score
Your vendor is wrong.

There's no property inherent in a "salt water" line that is different to a "fresh water" line. They are all fly lines and can be used in either. Some lines are fat, some are thin, some are long, some are short.

Ask him how much backing can be accommodated with a DT line vs an integrated shooting head.

Cheers,
Graeme

Last edited:

silver creek

Reaction score
So I was in a discussion with a local vendor about putting line on a reel. He said that I could get a freshwater 6 weight line on that backing but there was not enough room for a saltwater line. I said what? He said that saltwater lines of the same weight are fatter than freshwater lines. So if each line is labeled 6 weight, how can one be fatter? Don't they measure the lines by weight in grains?