EHC Tips and Tricks?

diamond rush

Reaction score
I'm still new to fly fishing and fly tying, but supposedly the caddisfly hatch is just starting on my favorite streams. And I'm going to tie up a bunch.

I tied up some basic black EHCs, but I was wondering if anyone had pointers or favorite caddis recipes. Either wet or dry is fine. Give me some ideas!

A couple newbie questions: How much hair is appropriate for the wings? I've got some deer belly hair that I found. But I don't know the proper amount per hook size. Nothing seems to look quite right. Will other types of hair (horse? dog? rabbit?) work? Silly idea, but pine straw's about the same consistency as deer belly hair. Does that work? What should I use as a tail? Hackles or no hackles?

For the record, I'm fishing the driftless area of Minnesota. Please enlighten me!

HuronRiverDan

Reaction score
Diamond, take a look on you tube for tying videos for various caddis; you could also check out Blue Ribbon Flies website, they have some great caddis videos...

Dan

gadfly_nj

Reaction score
Its hard to do better than a Lafontaine sparkle pupa for an emerger, and an x-caddis for a dry fly. Look up the x-caddis - its tied with no hackle and a bit of antron or xelon off the back for a trailing shuck. A traditional EHK with hackle is great for faster, broken water where you need a better floating fly.

Also, if you are new to tying, you should try using caribou instead of deer or elk hair. It is very buoyant, and MUCH easier to work with.

Regarding the other types of hair you mentioned, it is important to note that not all hair is buoyant. Deer, Elk, and Caribou are all buoyant because they are hollow. Rabbit hair is not, and I suspect that dog is not.

Good luck!

ChrisinselwynNZ

Reaction score
deer, elk, moose......... this type of animal and possom have hollow hair. They will float best, you can also use a bunch of CDC under the wing.