Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Peak Vs Anvil - Which one to get?

All,
    Before anyone suggests it, I have searched this forum for reviews on vises and found a good bit of info. on the all the choices for a vise. Most of them speak highly of the Renzetti's & the Peak. I have recently started with fly tying & find it something that I plan to continue well into the future. My focus is mainly freshwater flies for the local streams and tail-waters.
    I have been given the choice between the Peak Rotary Vise Or the Anvil Atlas Vise. Which one would you recommend and why?
    Unfortunately, I cannot view / handle these vises in person since none of the shops nearby carry them.

Regards & Thanks,
    Shrish

Default Re: Peak Vs Anvil - Which one to get?

Peak, the thing is a tank and real smooth to boot.

I'm new at tying flies, but based on reviews that I read, I went with the Atlas Anvil. It's my first vice, so I have nothing to compare to, but so far, I like it! Seems very adjustable, and I like that it came with both the table base and the clamp. Found on-line from Ed's Fly Shop, through Amazon.com for $139.95.

I found a thread (somewhere on this forum) that mentioned that if there was a milspec for a vice, this would be it, and I have to agree, it does seem very well manufactured.
    - Rick

"A leader with great passion and few skills always outperforms a leader with great skills and little passion." Chief Rick Lasky

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by lancer09 View Post
    Peak, the thing is a tank and real smooth to boot.
    I've used the Peak for over three years now and absolutely love it. Very well built, bought the midge jaw option. I've never used the Anvil so I can't speak on it.

Larry
    Larry

anvil ---- don't need any xtras and is made in U.S.A. with a nice warrenty. I have used and sold them...
    sandfly/ bob
    (www.bigmeadowsflyshop.com)
    N.J.B.B.A. #2215