Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Opinion on Tradition

1. Default Opinion on Tradition

Hey Everyone!

The discussion I want to start is, I have been studying and ties patterns for flies for about 20 years now. There are some things that holde true no matter what and some that consistently throw me for a loop.

Size, shape and color have always been the basis for initiation. Then Bead head came around. I have tied a number of flies traditional and bead headed with various results, all good (which makes it harder).

What does the general tying public think? Personally, if they make a bead small enough for the hook, tying nyphs will always have one.

Default Re: Opinion on Tradition

Hi NMrodblder,

Well this is a thought provoking question. Due to my age I tend to stick with traditional flies but also like some of the new ideas. There is so much new tying material that the tyer has more flexibility than ever before. My favorite nymph is the Prince Nymph and I still fish it with out a bead head. Other people think the bead head is better but I have not found that to be true. I think it has a lot to do with the style of fishing you do. I like to use split shot for weight and don't need the added weight of the bead head. I bought some Bead Head Hares Ear flies from Orvis that were very small. I don't remember the exact size hook but the bead head covered 1/2 of the hook shank. In this case it was a mistake to use a bead head. Some tyers go over board with flash using flashabou and other flash material. I have found that flies with just a little flash work better than flies with a bunch of flash.