Want to tie czech/caddies nymphs

two_nymph_rig

Reaction score
I am just starting out in the tying world. I have been tying some midges, and want to start jumping in to nymphs. I like to do a lot of high sticking with weight, so I figured I should start tying some czech style nymphs. I have been watching some videos, but I really do not know where to start when it comes to buying the materials. the closest fly shop is about 45 minutes away, so I will be ordering my stuff online. So, if somebody could provide a list of materials to buy, and maybe a few of their favorite patterns, it would be greatly appreciated. (remember, i am a beginner) I do have various colors of dubbing, and dozens of spools of 6/0 thread.

jaybo41

Reaction score
The possibilities are endless, but I will say that I am quickly becoming a huge fan of all things UV. Even just a little bit of it seems to have made a difference when I've added a material with UV properties to my flies.

I was messing with a pattern a few weeks back and found pretty good success. I'll try and get a photo posted sometime tomorrow. Here's the down and dirty pattern.

Tungsten Bead or regular bead with no lead wire if you prefer
Partridge Czech Nymph Hook, size 16
Rainbow Scud dubbing
pink UV dubbing for hotspot
Black UV dubbing for the collar
Scud shellback, clear 1/8th size
XSmall black wire wrapped around the shellback

I picked up materials from various sources. JSflyfishing.com, performanceflies.com and a local shop. You should also take a look at Feather-Craft, they have a great selection of materials. All websites mentioned are highly recommended.

One thing to add, there is a book that I highly recommend for nymphing techniques as well as some great fly patterns. George Daniel's Dynamic Nymphing. It's a must have book IMHO if you are into nymphing. It's available on Amazon in both hardcover and Kindle edition.

Hope this helps.

williamhj

Reaction score