Foam ideas?

mrl0004

Reaction score
I am very new to tying. I started maybe 2 months agp. I haven't branched out much from foam, except for cranking out some clousers. I have tied stealth bombers, hoppers, and one bugs. I have so much foam that I am trying to come up with some way to utilize it without tying the same few patterns over and over. I realize I could "google it," and I have, but thought you guys might know some.

Here is what I have been tying:
Sam's One Bug (invented by a friend's dad) - great for bass and panfish

Redeye bass like it...

Shellcracker like it...

I have hooked some 4lb smallmouth on this pattern, but never had the pleasure of bringing them to hand.

Now I have started tying hoppers....

Haven't fished them yet.

On the docket is: neversink caddis, damselflies, todd's wiggle minnow, gurglers and beetles

Have I overlooked anything, or anything you guys can recommend? I mainly fish for trout and smallmouth bass.

theboz

Reaction score
That hopper is awesome looking! Try some foam ants or foam beetles . Theres a great foam frog pattern Joni posted around here somewhere. Try some foam bass patterns. Look back at some of the old posts on the fly forum there is a bunch. Should keep you busy!

bigjim5589

Reaction score
Not anything new, but I like the Chernobyl & Triple Decker style foam flies. The TD is a bit more involved, but from the look of your hopper you can handle it I'm sure! :thmbup:

jaybo41

Reaction score
That hopper is just beautiful! Nice work on that one. As others have said, ants. Foam Crickets as well. Tie them smaller than your hopper and with rubber legs to keep it simple.

I like Davie McPhail's ant pattern. All of his videos are highly recommended. I've learned so much and been able to develop ideas just by watching him.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xK1Csc8aHpU]Tying a Large Parachute Black Ant (DryFly) with Davie McPhail. - YouTube[/ame]

mrl0004

Reaction score