hi im new to fly tying

Reaction score
hi im new to this and i was looking for a basic entry level fly tying kit do you guys have any suggestions any help would be appreciated. also what are some super easy flies that i could learn to tie first thank in advance.

Walter1023

Reaction score
I think the general consensus of many is against a starter's kit as this question has come up before. I can only speak to my personal experience...I avoided a "kit" as many jeemed like junk. I started tying just over a year ago and wanted a good value but reasonable priced vice....so I bought the Griffin Oddysey Spider vice for $85....its still at that price - it had good reviews when I bought it and its been great. I've tied alot of flies in the last year from size 10 down to small #26 Olives - no problems. I also bought a Dr' Slick Tyer tool pack....$50 at Cabelas which includes Bobbin, bodkin, hair stacker, hackle pliers, threader and excellent quality scissors......to me this covers all the hardware for a beginning tyer at $135 threads/dubbing/hackle/etc you can read up on what you need. I flyfished pretty intensely for 11 years before I took up tying - so glad I did. Not only is it a great feeling to catch a trout on your own fly....I actually feel more confident with my own flies at this time. Good Luck I'm sure you'll get alot of responses

texastroutbum

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. I agree with Walter in that many people who bought fly tying kid were generally not that happy about it.
I do not want to repeat what Walter mentioned above, but I would like to add a piece of advice about beginning to tying your own fly.