What was the first fly you learned to tie?

nrp5087

Reaction score
I've been looking at my progression as a tier over the past several years and I never forget the first fly I tied. It was this ugly flashy woolybugger made with some sort of sparkly chenile and a black marabou tail. Took it to Alaska with me when I was 13 and caught my first fish on a fly rod with it first cast. The same hole I was fishing 7 years ago and caught that fish I was at this summer at the age of 20....I still have more enjoyment tying large streamers now because of the wooly being my first tie even though around here most fish are caught on nymphs Im always willing to throw a streamer.

Fond memories lets hear yours

thorsten

Reaction score
Hello,

My first fly was a buck hair caddis, because of the low costs for the materials (I was a student) :cool:

flytire

Reaction score
unfortunately it was 30+ years ago and it is probably still in the the log i hooked somewhere in colorado. might have been a brassie but i just dont remember :confused:

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
I'm not exactly sure that I have the very first, if not the flies I have are real close to the first. I'm forced to guess because I didn't keep notes or pictures but I did know that they would probably come apart so I tossed them into a plastic container sometime in 1969. I never threw that container away and along with all my fly tying stuff it moved all over America with me for the following 43 years and it's here now.

The pictures were taken with my first digital camera with no macro function. Someday I should take a better one so you could appreciate the detail in the work.