Craft fur for Clousers?

kingofamberley

Reaction score
I got some materials yesterday from bass pro for tying clousers. I am fairly new to tying and while I really enjoy it, I am still learning the ins and outs of all the various tying materials. Trying to save a few bucks, I opted to get craft fur instead of buck tail. I got a pack of white and a pack of chartreuse. When I got home I looked online to see if I made a good choice and I've been getting conflicting views.
So what do you guys think? Is craft fur any good for clousers? Or does it foul the hook too much/not hold its shape well enough? Did I mess up by buying it instead of real buck tails? I'm thinking of going back today to exchange it, but I'd like to get some opinions before I drive all the way out there. Thanks!

Rip Tide

Reaction score
The craft fur will mat and you may have to comb it out once in a while but it make perfectly acceptable flies

If you want some cheap bucktail, Cabela's sells a "grab bag" of broken pieces for about 10 bucks. It's well worth it I think.
There really is no substitute.

itchmesir

Reaction score
I bought a grab bag of buck tails from Cabela's(at the store.. not online)... really nice imho... had all the colors I needed... and then some... and I've been able to tie plenty of clousers with it...

I tried craft fur and it drives me nuts personally... I much prefer bucktail for my clousers... a couple casts or 1 fish and a craft fur clouser is nothing short of a complete mess and a shell of its former self...

Bucktail can be expensive.. But unless you're tying big ol honkin muskie flies... 1 tail will go a LONG way

stl_geoff

Reaction score
How expensive is your guys bucktails?? I can get 2-3 chunklets of it for $1.60 and a whole tail is $4.95. i dont really think thats all that expensive, maybe Im in a source of cheap bucktail though?

Rip Tide

Reaction score