what would you buy??

streamwalker

Reaction score
alright well im looking to start tying my own flies. ive tied a few in the past and was guided by a fella who has been tying for 30+ years. so i have very little but some experience. i know the basics on how to tie. but anyways im looking to buy my own gear and start tying daily. i have right around 250ish to spend as i sold one my hunting bows ( other extreme addiction :D) so i was thinking the renzettie travler vise for a vise that i wont have to upgrade unless i want to. now for tools this is what im lost on and would like your opinion. what is a nice set of tools that wont break the bank? and the excess cash left over will of course be spent on materials which i will pick out according to what flies im wanting to tie. thanks in advance!

williamhj

Reaction score
Poke around and you'll find other threads on this that will go into good detail. Here are some of my suggestions:

- Scissors, don't skimp on these. I like Dr Slick and would get an all purpose pair. If you tie small get small ones too. I have a pair of Dr Slick's for cutting hair which I like but you can use cheap scissors for this if you want to save some money.
- Cheap scissors for cutting wire
- Bobbin, I like ones with ceramic tubes
- Bobbin threader, not necessary I suppose but cheap and useful
- Bodkin, useful for applies head cement, etc
- Hair Stacker if you plan to tie caddis and other flies with hair wings etc
- Whip finisher. There are a lot that work and you can use your hand to do it, but I like one that has a spring and rotates, think I got mine on ebay

There are other tools that can be helpful but really depends on what you plan to tie.

mudbug

Reaction score
Peak Vice
Orvis Economy scissors (I have anvil and Dr. Slick but I always go back to the Orvis economy)
The cheap ceramic tube bobin with the ceramic tube held in place with shrink tube.
I never use my bodkin, I have a large sewing needle stuck in a small cork that I like better.