Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: foam dragonfly

1. Default foam dragonfly

seen this recipe on the internet. figured I'd give it a try as a bass fly. what ya think? its a size 8 streamer. used insect green foam and krystal flash and hi vis yarn for the wings but don't have any mono eyes yet.. here is the recipe we used.foam dragonfly! what ya think? will it work? am gonna make some smaller sizes and more colors.. the foam they used looks great! need to get me some!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "Hey, you.Get your damn hands off my herl !!!!"

owner of the GL Fishing Forum.

Default Re: foam dragonfly

Very nice George
    What kind of foam? I am very new to fresh water tying i usually tie baitfish imitations not bugs. but i find it very interesting and just bought a few used books on trout and warmwater flies. It is very different from saltwater tying, the smaller sizes take some getting used too, not much room for error.
    Jim
    I don't always fly fish but when I do I prefer salt water. Stay salty my freinds

Glen Weisner of Glen River Fly Co gave our fff group a slide presentation of fishing central and eastern Pa ---one of his fly kits that he sells is a blue damsel that he has caught some huge trout on---heres a pic and a link

Blue Damsel Adult

George mcfly----make your own mono eyes by lighting the end of some mono and when it melts dip it in water---bigger mono=bigger eyes
    "something is happening here but i dont know what it is"---dylan

4. Default Re: foam dragonfly