Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  12

Default Christmas Present for My Parents

My mom and dad are my main fishing buddies (and I'm 30 years old!) and I'm very happy to have them along with me as often as possible. I've only been tying for about 6 months and thought it would be a nice gift for them if I could put together a small box for each one of them (emphasis on small!)... So here are the results. It took a lot longer than I thought, but I'm still pretty new to this.

I've included the following
    1. Stimulator
    2. Griffith's Gnat
    3. Elk Hair Caddis
    4. Egg
    5. San Juan Worm
    6. Bead head soft hackle
    7. Sulphar soft hackle
    8. Pheasant tail nymph
    9. Copper John
    10. Cap Spider (a panfish fly)
    11. Wooly Bugger

They're definitely not perfect, but hopefully they'll fool a few fish and put a smile on my parent's faces once or twice.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Christmas Present for My Parents

You're a good son

3. Likes mcnerney liked this post

Well done. Those flies will mean a lot more to your parents then if you had just gone out and bought them.
    I am sure they will appreciate the labor and the love that went in to making them.
    You are fortunate to share a pastime with your parents, and vice versa. Enjoy the time you can spend together !
    " I'm just a cook " Casey Ryback, Under Siege

5. Likes mcnerney liked this post
    White City (tad north of Medford) Oar-E-Gone

Thumbs up Re: Christmas Present for My Parents

Can't use names here ... they read the board I think. But most fly tieing is now behind me (shakie hands - "Parkinson's" sucks) but a 'gift box' like the above is a great thing.

Have two boxes to turn over for Prezzies with all the flies tied for me in the UK. Sounds a bit odd to get them from 6,000 away, but the Fellows will purchase 'something' here in the US and I'll trans-ship.