Calf hair vs Deer tail for Clousers

paflyfish

Reaction score
I am still a novice tier. I signed up for a beginning flytying class at the local flyshop. It's 6 Tues nights for a couple of hours at a time. The first week I was traveling for work and the 2nd week we had a snowstorm so I finally got to my class this past week. It's the first time doing it and I really enjoyed it. As it is a beginner class, we tie standard stuff. We tied the bucktail which I think I have gotten pretty good at this weekend. We will see what happens whe they check my homework this Tuesday.

We tied a clouser minnow using calf tail instead of bucktail. I am doing my homework on this one as well and don't seem to be able to handle the calf tail as well. I struggle a bit to get it to tie down smoothly at the front? Is there a different way to handle calf tail?

I pulled out a DVD that I bought a while back and watched it last night. The Compleat Clouser by Bob Clouser. Neat DVD and it showed some alternative materials to tie Clousers with. I guess I have a few more things to pick up at the flyshop this week!

Keith

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Keith,

I don't tie Clouser flies but if you are having trouble with the butt end of the hair when you bind it down try using less. We tend to want big bushy wings but the thick butt ends can be a problem. Plan B is to tie the wing in 2 small bunchs. After you have the first bound down position the butts of the second bunch just a tiny bit back from the butts of the first bunch. This will create a stepped effect that will allow you to bind and taper the ends with thread. If I know the pattern, this tying technique will not be a problem when you finish off the fly.

Ard

flytire

Reaction score
I would spend under ten bucks to get a white and chartreuse buck tails to tie clouser minnows. You could get buck tail pieces even cheaper.

The calf tail is just too short for tying minnows.

paflyfish

Reaction score