ice dubbing

GeorgeMcFly

Reaction score
seen this ice dubbing and had to get it. look at the irridesence in this stuff! now you can add it to all your nymphs and get a sparkle out of um! any guys use this ice dub? any patterns I should try? this should really work great for the steelhead around here and any other fish for that matter

Attachments

Joni

Reaction score
YOU BET! I cut mine with regular superfine dubbing sometimes, but that spectramizing effect is awesome! Try using a dubbing loop and making the fly real bushy!

GeorgeMcFly

Reaction score
thanks joni. I am new to the dubbing loop. I have seen it in books and online but never tried it. does this help make a bushier thorax? I have always just twisted dubbing on the thread.. I got this tool with all my tools. is it for the dubbing loop? never could figure out whats its for but it was called a dubbing pick or something but now that i look at it it looks like the loop some people make out of hanger to twist the loop.

Attachments

Joni

Reaction score
That is for a dubbing loop. Check this out first: Dubbing Loop
Locking the loop like in #3 and #4 is really important. But I do this and the back of the hook. So make a loop with your thread(doesn't really matter if it is too long you can fix that at the eye) at the back of the hook and place the hook tool to hold the loop. Lock it off like in the link, then run the thread to the eye of the hook. I am going to say, this is where a rotary vise is the best. Put a knot in the thread by the eye now so it stays put. Take a clump of dubbing and with both hands keep pulling it apart so that the fibers end up all horizontal.
Put small batches in the loop, you want it to be on the thin side or the fly will end up WAY too bushy. Place the dubbing in the loop and slide it to cover say 3" to 5" of the loop, but try to keep them HORIZONTAL. Then spin the hook tool to make a rope out of the dubbing. It will end up looking like Mohair chenille.