Help with tying flies with zonker strips

pafishslayer

Reaction score
Hi guys , so I'm new to tying flies with zonker but I'm running into some issue that I'm wondering if someone can help me with.Ive tied 2 flies with zonker strips and I've followed videos and books and do it exactly the same way as they do but every time I test them in my test tank they always float , even after i try to hold them under the water. Doesn't make sense since they are suppost to be bottom flies. Wondering if someone can help . I know adding lead wire would help but at this point almost the whole shank of the hook is covered. Thanks in advance , Nick

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

ia_trouter

Reaction score
They will tend to ride high in current or while stripping. They'll sink a bit better after they are in the water awhile. I would tie some with wire, or coneheads if you really want them to sink, and see what suits you. 2X heavy wire hooks couldn't hurt but it isn't going to solve it. They are not going to sink like a beaded nymph unless you weight them considerably.

pafishslayer

Reaction score
They will tend to ride high in current or while stripping. They'll sink a bit better after they are in the water awhile. I would tie some with wire, or coneheads if you really want them to sink, and see what suits you. 2X heavy wire hooks couldn't hurt but it isn't going to solve it. They are not going to sink like a beaded nymph unless you weight them considerably.

Thanks I appreciate the help I've only been tying and fly fishing for 6 months so I'm still learning

ia_trouter

Reaction score
Thanks I appreciate the help I've only been tying and fly fishing for 6 months so I'm still learning