Reclaiming your discarded un-fishable flies

scottyb

Reaction score
I'm still new at tying, this is my 4th season.

When I learn a new pattern the first several (20 or more) flies are practice flies and typically end up in a "discard" pile. Same with when I start again after some time off, the first few flies are un-fishable...meaning I gave up half way through or are so mishappen and clumsy I would never let myself or a friend fish them when I have dozens of better tied versions.

So any clever ways to reclaim the hooks and beads from these sad flies?
Is it worth trying to get hooks back when they only cost a couple of dimes?

ia_trouter

Reaction score
I throw them in a jar. Doesn't take up much space. Mostly they are not worth the trouble to clean off if I used adhesive. But every now and then, I am glad to find I can recover a few streamer hooks in a particular size I am out of. I also use a few up by clipping the hooks and using them for yard practice.

gc59

Reaction score
I don't usually bother with smaller hooks unless brand new but salt hooks I reclaim on a regular basis. I take an X-Acto knife and cut down the top of the hook shank (BE CAREFUL) then start peeling off, sometimes easy sometimes not so easy, but in the end you can get back some material, hook, and start over or make a new pattern. I do this on patterns I've messed up or toothy fish have chewed up.

spm

Reaction score
If I don't like the was a fly has turned out, I strip it down immediately. I don't add glue or head cement until the very end, so it isn't too difficult. I use a straight razor, and a certain amount of cursing.

steve

planettrout

Reaction score
Many passings of the seasons ago, when I started this tying thing, tying a dozen each of a particular fly, I immediately stripped the hook shank with a razor blade or x-acto knife if a pattern was going South. Nothing "crappy" ever turned up in my boxes...I practice the same today - only stripping occurs a lot less frequently...