Shopping list

joshgamble

Reaction score
Hi all. So I want to start tying my own saltwater flies. They are just too pricey to pay in shop. I am new to tying and have nothing. In terms of materials, what should I get to get started? If I ask the shop guy I will end up buying shares in the store. I fish in New England, so stripers and blues. Any decently priced vises you can recommend? What makes a good or bad vise? Looking to get that off ebay.
Thanks in advance.:army:

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
Hi all. So I want to start tying my own saltwater flies. They are just too pricey to pay in shop. I am new to tying and have nothing. In terms of materials, what should I get to get started? If I ask the shop guy I will end up buying shares in the store. I fish in New England, so stripers and blues. Any decently priced vises you can recommend? What makes a good or bad vise? Looking to get that off ebay.
Thanks in advance.:army:
Josh,
Here's a reality. You may not save much money tying flies. The costs of a good vise, tools, and materials add up. Factor in time, you'll have another cost.

Here's the other reality. What you will get out of tying your own flies is the satisfaction of having a fly the way that you want it. A tweak here and a tweak there can give you the variation that may catch more fish than the stock pattern.

As for materials, you will need the materials of the flies that you plan to tie. My guess is that you will be tying up Deceiver and Clouser type flies. Visit your fly shop and tell the shop guy that you want to tie those flies in certain sizes and colors. You will probably spend about $30 to $40 in materials.