Just getting started, what else do i need?

Cool Hand Hodge

Reaction score
As the title suggests im new to fly tying. Ive been fishing for a good while now, but would really like to start rolling my own. So far i have a dyna king barracuda junior vice, and the dr. slick kit. I picked up a bunch of materials including head cement and Fly tying made simple by skip morris. Anything else i should pick up in order to get started? I dont know anyone who ties, so im on my own with this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jimmie

Reaction score
You are starting with a nice vise, and tools it sounds. The book that you have is probably a good one. The book that most on here rave about is Charlie Craven's book. That plus his online store charlie'sflybox has many tutorials for tying most popular patterns. Each has a list of materials needed. If your book lists many fly patterns/recipes then you can go to google and type "how to tie a .......". You will almost always get a video of a tyer showing you how step by step. In fact when you have time type "how to tie a pheasant tail nymph". I still do it often.

O

okuma

Welcome to the addiction of fly tying:D. I also taught myself years ago. I like looking on line for how to tie patterns and copy(alot of times creating my version:p) the recipes used.

ghostdncr

Reaction score
I started making real progress when I settled down and picked one pattern to tie, then bought the materials for only that pattern. Tie it until your fly looks presentable and can be finished in a reasonable amount of time, then choose another and repeat the process. After you've gone through this several times, your stock of tying materials will have increased substantially along with your tying skills.

FWIW, I must have $1000+ worth of tying materials on hand and it seems any new pattern I set out to tie requires one or more items not "in stock". :mad:

ab fisher

Reaction score