Hooks

txbevo

Reaction score
I am new to fly tying and have a question. The recipes in the beginning fly tying book I purchased state to use Tiemco hooks. However, the fly shop I was in yesterday only carried Mustad hooks. Is it just personal preference as to the brand of hooks to use? If the recipe calls for Tiemco but I only have Mustad available how do I know which Mustad hook corresponds to the Tiemco or do they all use the same numbers?

Snaggy

Reaction score
If your not confused enough yet...

Fly Hook Comparison Chart

You should be able to look at the Tiemko number and find the Mustad nearest to it. The hook size is always the same, 1 is large and 22 is tiny and so on. Make sure you get the size and shaft lenght (2X 4X short, etc.) and type (dry, egg, streamer etc.) to correspond or your in trouble.

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
There probably is a cross reference out there somewhere but what I do is just ask the fly shop. For example, if the pattern calls for a TMC 100 and all they have is Mustad, they will most likely know the correct hook for your pattern. Happens to me all the time, but I find the guys at the local fly shop are pretty knowledgeable.

Larry

GeorgeMcFly

Reaction score
I just use the cheapest hooks I can find.. usually mustad or diiachi or whatever no matter what they call for. I will try to match the hook up to the fly you are making tho. nymph hooks for nymphs, streamer hooks for streamer patterns(buggers,clousers,leeches), etc, I have streamer hooks in size 3x long 6, 8, and 10 I have nymph hooks in 12,14,16, I have dries hooks in the same sizes. also have 10,12,14 egg hooks. thats about all the sizes I use but it depends what your fishing for and where you are fishing. you might need bigger or smaller hooks as needed. I noticed that you can use a dry fly hook for a nymph pattern and a nymph hook for a dry if need be and in a pinch also.

Guy

Reaction score