Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: too much weight

1. Default too much weight

first off i'm very new to fly tying, and new enough to fly fishing to be considered clueless!

the fly below is a little creation of mine. when i first went fishing with it, my first cast with it went perfectly, but once it got wet i had problems throwing it (i have a 5wt cabela's genesis combo)! at first i just thought the eyes were to heavy so i went out, got some red eyes(the weight on my silver set said medium, so i just got small this time). today i went out with a black w/ red version of the fly, and once more after my first cast i felt no control over my rod!

so i figure i need to get rid of the eyes for sure, but what do i do to make it so i have enough weight for it to sink, but not too much for rod control purposes.

i've caught one bass on this, and two on the red(only been fishing with each one once) for those who are wondering

also if anybody has tips to make my deer hair cutting skills a little sharper (no pun intended) that would be great!

thanks in advance,
    Michael

2. Default Re: too much weight

I found that I was having the same problem. You could 1)shorten up your leader. 2)Buy an extra spool for your reel and line it with something like Rio Streamer Tip line for chuck'n and duck'n type flies. 3) Depending on what weight rod your using, you may want to go up a size and some people say that a faster action rod will help as well. Hope that this gets you started.

3. Default Re: too much weight

Can't tell from the photo the exact size of the fly, but I'd estimate that an 8 wt. would be a lot closer to the rig you'd want/need to cast your creation. The more weight a fly has (and you always have to take into account the water your fly will absorb) and the more wind resistant, the heavier the line/rod you will need to cast it well.