Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Default it is possible...?

Hey everyone,

I will warn you I am totally new to spey and have been heavily confused by much of what I have found on the internet. I'm debating buying a Redington CPX 11374 for steelies on the Wisconsin tribs but I am on a very tight budget. I can't really afford to go all out and purchase a new reel and full set of spey lines right now but plan to in the future. Currently I have an Orvis battenkill Large Arbor III reel and SA 7wt steelhead line on it and I know that it will stand up to steelhead but will not work well on this rod by itself.

My question is if I were to purchase a Skandi/Skagit head and attached it to the Steelhead line for my running line would I be able to effectively achieve what I am trying to do?
    -shawn

'If our father had had his say, nobody who did not know how to catch a fish would be allowed to disgrace a fish by catching him.'

Blog Entries

Default Re: it is possible...?

Quote Originally Posted by ssmith View Post
    My question is if I were to purchase a Skandi/Skagit head and attached it to the Steelhead line for my running line would I be able to effectively achieve what I am trying to do?
    Nope. It will not be effective.

For a shooting/running line, I'd recommend something floating in a .030" thickness. Rio's Powerflex Shooting Line casts well, but there are plenty of viable shooting lines on the market.

MP

Thanks for the tip MP, I figured it was a shot in the dark but I guess the girlfriend is right and patience is a virtue... unfortunately I'll have to put this off till possibly the fall.
    -shawn

'If our father had had his say, nobody who did not know how to catch a fish would be allowed to disgrace a fish by catching him.'