Spey/Switch Rods and Target Fish

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
What kinds of fish do you target with your Spey and switch rods?

Here in Northern California, there are a variety of fish that can be caught with a Spey or switch rod. Most of the year, I'll target local Rainbow Trout on my home waters, the Lower Yuba. In the fall and winter, I start concentrating on Steelhead. When spring rolls around, it's time to fish for American Shad.

One of my friends has found a use for his switch rod. He uses it to fish for Smallmouth Bass on something that is slightly larger than a small stream (NF American River). There are some areas that have some large pools that he likes to work streamers into. Also there are some pocket waters that he nymphs.

MP

fyshstykr

Reaction score
I'm a rank amateur at the Spey game, only playing once so far and that being for Steelhead on the Salmon River(Idaho).
I am however seeing some other applications like those big toads that sit around the boulders in the middle of a wide, deep run that is otherwise unreachable without a boat, or places where a long cast is needed but you have little to no room for a backcast.

Maybe Carp on those large expansive flats on the Snake river above and below American Falls Reservoir.

#1 choice will be for chasing Steelhead on the Salmon and Clearwater Rivers, perhaps someday making a jaunt to the PNW or Alaska.

BigCliff

Reaction score
I'm (very slowly) building up a 10' 4/5wt rod as a switch, and plan on using it for trout and bass on some of the larger rivers I fish. It will be used for swinging streamers, high-stick nymphing, and traditional wet fly work.

I think it'll also be handy for covering wide rivers during the white bass run in the spring.

Guest1

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada bor