What sort of waters?

handlebars

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to fly fishing in general, and while poking around I saw some videos for spey fishing and spey casting and it looks like quite a bit of fun. My question is, what sort of water is spey useful for?

jpbfly

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Hi Handlebars. Welcome to this sport that we call fly fishing. It is an addiction, too. I will let Outback MP handle this one while I go fishing.

Outback MP Answers Handlebars' Question

MP
Hey MP ....That's funny and interesting with great explainations as usual:thumbsupu....the way the guy is dressed is a bit weird though...you're going to revolutionize the forum;)

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
MP: That was great! Outback MP might get a bit chilly out here this time of year in that outfit!

Larry

handlebars

Reaction score
That's amazing, and very funny. Thanks a bunch, I think I might pick up a spey rod now, any suggestions for a entry level rod below $200? I noticed Orvis marked one of theirs down to $125, any other good companies with deals like that?

HuronRiverDan

Reaction score
OBMP may dress strangely but his information is good. Handlebars, look around and cast some different models before you buy. The ideal situation would be to find out if there is a Spey Clave planned for your area. When you're ready to buy don't overlook E-BAy.

Dan

MoscaPescador

Reaction score
That's amazing, and very funny. Thanks a bunch, I think I might pick up a spey rod now, any suggestions for a entry level rod below $200? I noticed Orvis marked one of theirs down to $125, any other good companies with deals like that?
Glad that you enjoyed Outback MP.

Seriously, most price pointed Spey rods will start around $299. I believe TFO has one at the $259 price point. You can find some below that price point by buying a closeout or used rod.