Need some fine tuning help guys.

swirlchaser

Reaction score
Hey guys, it's time to pick your brains again. After 2 trips with my 11" 9wt switch and a few fish under my belt I need some fine tuning. I'm basically using a two handed, over head cast. Should my upper hand be above the reel or towards the top of the grip. At the top of the grip feels a little unatural at the moment but I'm thinking that's where I should be.

jaybo41

Reaction score
I am by no means an expert in casting, I am only starting to dip into switch rods:) With that said, check out youtube. From the looks of most videos I've watched, and recalling my instruction, it seems like you want to be at the top of the grip. By all accounts that I've read, these are some of the masters when it comes to two handed casting.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNoMcWGoY8g]Advanced Speycasting with Eoin Fairgrieve - YouTube[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5V1vxR2cr0]Master the Scandinavian Speycast with Henrik Mortensen - YouTube[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKweQaWEQg8]How to Cast a Floating Tip on a Skagit Line---From Skagit Master Volume 1 Featuring Ed Ward - YouTube[/ame]

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ua3JT3gmsjI]Simon Gawesworth at SOR, Spey casting. - YouTube[/ame]

swirlchaser

Reaction score
I am by no means an expert in casting, I am only starting to dip into switch rods:) With that said, check out youtube. From the looks of most videos I've watched, and recalling my instruction, it seems like you want to be at the top of the grip. By all accounts that I've read, these are some of the masters when it comes to two handed casting.
Thanks, I've pretty much memorized those 4 videos but no one is casting with a short, 11' rod. I was wondering if the positioning matters on a shorter rod. I won't bother to adjust if it's not going to make a serious impact on my cast.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score