Fighting & Landing Big Fish;

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Warning, this is long with no pictures. I have tried to explain how I have landed many large fish but I may need to edit this after it is posted. I hope it is helpful in some of what it says.

This article is being posted into the Spey Fishing section of the forum because I have been using the 2 handed rods exclusively now for many years to catch all fish. The species range from small grayling to some very good sized salmon but the content of this piece will be focused on landing fish between 8 and 45 pounds. The same techniques I will attempt to outline here are applicable to your use of single hand rods also, I have used this forum because I haven't landed a big fish on a single hand rod for 4 or 5 years I forget which. That landing occurred while trout fishing a small stream and getting hooked to a silver salmon of about 6.5 pounds, I was using a 6'6" three weight bamboo flea rod at the time....... The rod is fine and the fish was released unharmed.

I'm going to try explaining something based on what I've experienced regarding getting a big fish to shore or the net. So we're going to look at what can happen from the moment you realize you have a fish hooked to the point when you are considering taking a photograph of it.

Before and after I began working as a fishing guide I have fished with a number of other people. I am convinced that when a truly large fish is hooked up and decides to do a little more than be reeled in like a slab of driftwood there are 2 ways the fish get landed, one way is a skillset developed by the angler and the other involves a good deal of luck. The luck factor comes into play with 100% of hookup to landing scenarios because the unknown factor is whether or not the hook is planted firm and deep in tissue that won't give way. So with that understood I'll keep talking about this.