Spey Casting Question

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
I'm new to casting with a two hander and I'm left handed. On river left I have been using a Double Spey cast, on river right I have been doing a Snap T and have been practicing with basically no wind. This last trip I was on river right with a hard wind blowing into my right shoulder, so I do a snap T to get the line up river of my position, but I'm standing in about 18 inches of very fast water, by the time I get my D loop formed and cast, the fly line is right at my feet. I know this is kind of a special situation, but I'm wondering if there isn't a better cast for that type of situation that I should be using? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
When the current speed increases Larry, the rotation speed must speed up also. By rotation I mean the move where your rod goes back over the shoulder to form the loop. When you speed up the rotation it may be helpful to lower your arms and thus the rod a bit so you don't rip the anchored line off the water.

You may also want to make sure the line is placed a little farther out toward the center of the stream rather than straight above you. This way even if you're a bit slow on rotating into the D loop position the fly won't be right beside you.

I was just fishing a spot last week where my rotation or sweep into the D loop had to be made so quickly that it seemed weird. Once I got onto the timing the casts went where I wanted them but I had to hurry due to current speed.

dillon

Reaction score
Hi Larry,
The Perry Poke is designed to reposition the line. In the situation you described, begin by making the snap t and then do the poke. I often use it when I am in a situation where I'm having difficulty setting the anchor, or use it spontaneously when an anchor is blown. It's a good one to have in the repertoire.

Dhttp://flyfishingtraditions.blogspot.com/2011/11/perry-poke-positioning-cast.html

eastfly66