Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3
    Blog Entries

Default Looking into OPST line for LMB and Redfish

In general, I like short head, 30-33, for overhead and sidearm casting to fish like redfish and largemouth bass. These lines like SA Titan Taper let me cast flies under branches and into the wind. Then I saw something about using OPST commando head for single hand rods. The twice as short, but roughly the same weight as my Titan head might be even better for handling the wind and/or big bulky flies. Is this reasoning sound?

I have zero experience with Spey casting and Spey or any other rods but my regular rods. Im not into getting a long two hand rod but am exploring getting a OPST commando head paired with a running line to try out on the lake and in the marsh. I like the idea of no false casting and this is what makes me want to try the Skagit style of cast.

One question is if I get a OPST can I just pair it with the running line of an old fly line I might have laying about? Second question is do I need some sort of special leader or can I use what I normally make out of different diameters of fluorocarbon? Im really interested in a floating line set up at this point. I see there are different combinations of float and sink tips. Do those get added to the commando head or do they replace the commando head? Finally, I see there are fully integrated Spey lines. Are those more what I might need or do the OPST series tend to work better?

My idea for rods to use is for these are my two G.Loomis Short Stix. I have the 7/8 and 8/9. Id like the set up to throw the wind resistant bass bugs or saltwater patterns. I have fiberglass 7/8 CGRs too. All these rods are 76. I have some 9 rods in that weight range, but prefer fishing the short ones.

Default Re: Looking into OPST line for LMB and Redfish