single handed spey lines for short rods

tom hines

Reaction score
YouTube

Hi, Everyone
I hope that I'm posting this question in the right place!
I'm a newbie to the spey casting world. I have tried a friend's set up, watched LOTS of videos, and made some preliminary attempts at the techniques. The video above by Trevor Covich (OPST) probably comes as close to what I'm looking for as any. If you read the comments below the video, one of the last respondents mentions the fact that some fly fishers are connecting commando heads and tips to the end of a regular WF floating line. I don't believe he received a response in regard to that possibility. How would that work; i.e. using a WF floating line as your running line for a commando setup? If I were to try that, should I remove the front taper of the WF line?

I will be using a 4 wt. 8.5 ft rod on small rivers and small lakes. I want the versatility to cast smaller patterns, even dry flies, as well as larger streamers. Presently, I'm thinking of trying an OPST Skagit Commando head (175 grain) with short 5 ft. tips (one floating and one S2 sinking as a starter. I would appreciate any ideas. (Do the Commmando 175 grain heads come in 10-ft lengths as well as 12-ft?

Thanks again. Tom

MichaelCPA

Reaction score
Great question. I am watching this also, and have little advice.

The commando head has one length I believe. What you seem to wish to do is build your own spey/scagit line by using a lighter wf line as your running line. A bit of belly might help mending. It wont shoot as far because a wf line is heavier than a mono running line line Lazar.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score