Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Default Micro Skagit, Lines, and Avoiding Loops

Hi, again,
    As I indicated in an earlier post, I am new to the world of skagit & spey casting. I am still experimenting and having fun doing it. I do want to share a little of what I am finding in my limited time working on it. Then, I want to ask you a question about loop avoidance!

I finally purchased a 175 grain Commando head and a couple of 5 ft. tips (one slow sinking and one floating), which I am using on an 8+ foot 4 wt. full flex graphite rod. Actually, the casting is going fairly well. I originally tried using running line that I took from an older floating WF line. That actually worked fairly well and did avoid the coils that come with mono line. I did have to see how the Lazar line works for running line, though; so I now have it on the setup. (I'm still working on stretching the Lazar and will hopefully get it under control (OR go back to using the floating WF level running line).

OK, now my question. I dislike loops and have avoided them for my fly fishing. I usually use a nailless nail knot between fly line and leader. However, I understand that loops allow us to be more flexible in "spey-style" casting. As you have probably seen, there are numerous youtube videos on connecting fly line to leaders. Here's one example:

I am thinking of the possibility to attaching my Lazar line to the Commando head using a method similar to Tim's above. I know nothing about the core of a Commando head or whether this idea is feasible. While I realize that I'm probably just wanting my cake and eating it, too, it would allow a much smoother line to reel in when catching fish. It would also allow me to have some of the head inside the rod on some occasions. (I really don't know how or if that will work yet.) At this point, even the very small knot of the loop to loop of Lazar and Commando is a bit of a pain for me.