5wt line on 3 or 4wt reel?

indiglofish61

Reaction score
Hello, i am just getting into learning about fly fishing. Ive gotten into a discussion about if i can put 5wt line on a 3 or 4wt reel? It would be nice to finally get a answer from someone who knows. Thank you.

r reese

Reaction score
Ok. I do it all the time. I don’t like large reels. I tend to like smaller traditional reels. What I do is put backing on to where I like. I cut 20 feet off of a 90 ft line. I can’t cast 70 ft of line on my rods. Never have run out of line or backing. I make it fit. Works out great.

r reese

Reaction score
Be sure and cut off of the back end of line. Don’t cut taper off front. I use 4wt on 1 2 3 size reels.

trev

Reaction score
That will depend on what reel and on what line. Some lines are fatter than others and some lines are longer than others; longer and fatter both take up more space on the reel.
Of course the line can be cut off or you can buy a shorty line, WF takes less reel space than a DT.

mtboiler

Reaction score
Ok, depending on the arbor, large or small it is possible. Larger arbor reels typically hold more line. That being said, a 5wt does not need much backing at all. further, if you are like most people you will probably never spool the reel, (cast all the line) So a second option is to cut 10 or 15 feet of the back of the line which will give you some extra space. When I use lines that are 100 ft or more I typically cut off 15 feet or so on anything 6wt and below. I don't think I will ever cast it all anyway.

indiglofish61

Reaction score
Ok i was thinking about my question, so how about fly rods can i use a 4wt line on a 3 or 4 wt rod say a 9 or10 footer?

trev

Reaction score