7wt switch power

theSoapLord

Reaction score
Im looking at buying a Sage Sonic in the 11’6” 7wt. I’ve heard some info that this will have the same power as a 9wt single hand and rod. So this makes me wonder if this would mean that a 7wt 2H could be used to target fish that would normally be fished on a 9wt SH. I would be fishing for steelhead, salmon, and the occasional carp all around the Pacific NW. Any input would be appreciated.

flav

Reaction score
I have no experience with the Sonic, but I feel most 7 weight switches I've cast are closer to a SH 8 weight in fish fighting power. A 7 weight switch is about perfect for summer steelhead, a bit on the light side for many winter steelhead, maybe for silver salmon, a probably not for chums, and too light for kings.

Ard

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Another person who does not own a Sonic and don't know how robust they are.

Not meaning to post something in contrast to fellow member flav above but I've been using a 7 weight Hardy Swift 11 1/2 foot short Spey for ten years and ........... they (the Hardy and most other 7 weights) work well with a 475 grain Scandi line which is considerably heavier than an 8 or 9 weight single hand line. I believe that an 8 weight WF single hand line weighs 275 - 300 grains depending on brand and head length and a 9 comes in around 350 to 375 grains.

I have several Beulah Elixir lines that I snatched up that are sweet with 37 foot bellies and integrated running lines for the rods (I have several due to business needs) and recommend integrated lines if you can find them. As for fish power I've caught everything from river rainbows - grayling - steelhead trout - and all five species of Pacific salmon on the Swift with some truly large fish in the works. To be honest you should have a longer and more stout rod for truly heavy fish but for anything up to 20 pounds the 11 1/2 foot 7 weights will get it done.