Beginner spey rod help: Redington vs ECHO

Jungle perch

Reaction score
Moving back to BC Canada for a year. Looking to get a 2 handed rod for Steelhead (maybe some sea run cuts and bull trout) thinking 13' 7wt ish. Looking at the redington dually, chromer, and the ECHO Swing and TR. Though I Usually go with the old adage buy once cry once, I am only going to use the rod for a year so probably don't want to go higher end then that (and as a beginner I likely don't need anything better than that). Any thoughts on what is a better value rod and what is a better beginner rod amongst those options?

Thanks for any help

duker

Reaction score
A 7 or 8 spey rod about 13' long is pretty standard for steelhead in northern BC--my three spey rods for northern BC are either 7 or 8 weights and between 12'9" and 13'3" long. As Dillon has pointed out, I think that's a bit big for cutties and bulls and agree that a 5 or 6 weight would be a better match.

I've never cast any of the Redington or Echo rods, but I've heard good things about all of them. Try searching speypages.com--they're the "go to" for all things two-handed. I can say that a friend of mine in Smithers has the 8136 Chromer and really likes it. I tried a few casts with it back in October (think he had a 600 grain Skagit on it) and it chucked that with authority.

Reactions: Ard

flav

Reaction score
I've cast a friend's Redington Dually, but only wiggled a Chromer. I've also fished a buddy's Echo SR (and landed a couple fish), but I've only picked up and flexed a Swing. I preferred the SR over the Dually, but they're close. I don't think you'll go wrong with any of them, but if I was doing the buying I would chose the SR. A 13 foot 7 or 8 weight would be a great choice in B.C.

tcorfey

Reaction score
Jungle Perch,