broken tips

siper

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I had been experimenting with a Skagit head on a glass 3 wt. 1st cast snapped.
Is it likely that it can occur just be overloaded weight, or it just found a faulty tip.

many thanks

mtboiler

Reaction score
My guess is one of two things...
Rod was inpacted before by a fly with a bead head that dented or gave it a micro crack and the extra weight just finally broke it...
or you overweighted it with the skagit head.
What weight was the skagit head? What 3wt rod?

siper

Reaction score
many thanks guys.
only a cheapie maxcatch 7’ 3wt. I got 2 one casts #DT4 nicely 40’. I’m only a novice.
The second experimenter running line and 11’ 280grain Skagit. broke 2” above last ferrule.
cheers
Ron

el jefe

Reaction score
I am a little bit surprised that a fiberglass rod broke. Usually, you have to close those in a car door--repeatedly--to break them.

mtboiler

Reaction score
probably from contact or, because it was a lower end rod, defect in manufacturing. Well overweighted though by the 280 grain head.

trev

Reaction score
My thoughts are if a rod is capable of handling, say a 3# fish, there is no fly line that weighs 3# so overloading to the point of rod breakage with a fly line makes no sense.

In general when a graphite rod breaks the likelihood of prior damage is pretty high, but how the damage was introduced or when is pure guesswork, the part could have been dropped or banged during assembly, storage, shipping, unpacking, storage, previous use etc.; so we could guess it had previous damage causing the rod to be defective.