Curiosity about 3 wt reel

Blu4415

Reaction score
I am new to fly fishing. You can look up my introduction post. It was not very long ago. Since then I have been using a 6wt setup. Been looking at getting a 3 wt for small creek panfish and trout around here.

The question is cost! All I here is the 3 wt reel is a glorified line holder. That make sense to me, no need for some state of the art drag system. So battenkill 1 or 2 would be fine I would imagine.

Back to the question when you buy a 300 or 400 dollar reel for a 3wt, what is the reason?
Is is brand loyalty? Status? Does it last longer/ quality better than say a battenkill?

Not being a hater, I would like to know the answer so I know if it is worth it to save up for a few months. Or just get what I can afford now.

This forum has helped me a ton on my journey so far, as a group you are an invaluable asset to someone starting out.

Sent from my LM-Q620 using Tapatalk

Blu4415

Reaction score
Sorry in advance I noticed after I posted this went to traditional instead of the General forum

johan851

Reaction score
To be perfectly honest, I get fancier reels in this class for primarily aesthetic reasons. There's probably a status component as well, something around liking nice things. There is a quality difference that's perceptible and satisfying, but it doesn't translate to improved functionality in a substantial way.

I like those Battenkill clicker reels. I have one and I think they're great bang for the buck. The next step up IMO is a Galvan Brookie, it has a larger arbor and a more modern look. The Ross Colorado LT is another small step up, and for $100 more I think the tolerances are a little tighter than the Brookie. All three will perform nearly identically on the water - like you said, reels in this class are fancy line holders.