Double Haul suggestions please

shrimpfly

Reaction score
I am just learning to double haul. I can make the hauls ok and mostly keep my stroke going properly while hauling but not always, still getting coordinated & my loops often suffer when hauling. I definitely see the line speed increase big time when hauling & it is easier to carry more line in the air.

So far I fail to be able to get the slingshot effect I see on videos on my last casting stroke. I’ve tried letting the line loose at different points on the last forward stroke with no appreciable difference. I can make my current max cast of 65’ just as easily not hauling by gradually lengthening the line as I can hauling, don’t seem to be able to get the benefit from hauling yet.

Suggestions appreciated!

Last edited:

osseous

Reaction score
I am just learning to double haul. I can make the hauls ok and mostly keep my stroke going properly while hauling but not always, still getting coordinated & my loops often suffer when hauling. I definitely see the line speed increase big time when hauling & it is easier to carry more line in the air.

So far I fail to be able to get the slingshot effect I see on videos on my last casting stroke. I’ve tried letting the line loose at different points on the last forward stroke with no appreciable difference. I can make my current max cast of 65’ just as easily not hauling by gradually lengthening the line as I can hauling, don’t seem to be able to get the benefit from hauling yet.

Suggestions appreciated!
Without hauling, perform several false casts and then let one of your backcasts fall to the ground. If the line curves in toward you AT ALL- forget about hauling until you correct that. Having that curve robs you of effective stroke length on your delivery. Your haul isn't pulling against the weight of the line, it is just straightening out that curve. Fix that first- you will gain a lot of distance. Then return to learning the haul.