Fire Ant Attack

Boltonbene

Reaction score
Hi all
I’m a newbie at fly fishing.
Purchased my first waders, boots and vest. I sure look good...lol. I’m an all in kinda guy.
Anyway, gone into the Credit River up here in Ontario for the first time. I didn’t want to disturb fish and walked the shore as much as possible.
About an hour later I felt crawling all over in my shirt. I was thinking it was black flies or mosquitos. Looked down at my waders and found fire ants crawling up. Done we’re hanging on for life as I just came out of the water. Resilient buggers.

I brushed them off but started noticing stinging in my shirt. I was bitten in about 10 spots. Stung but not that bad.
I found 20 more stuck in my netted vest which saved me from more bites.

It was difficult to know if I’ve disturbed a nest as there was quite a bit of ground cover.
How can I protect myself from being attacked?
Thinking of getting a long sleeve hoodie shirt.
Could I add rings if Vasoline to the legs of waders to stop them from crawling? Any affect on the material? I have Simms Freestone waders and vest.
Any advice would be appreciated.

Thx
Stung but not out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

k_e_v

Reaction score
Farmington, ill. -Stop by for a cold beer on your
I don’t know if this is just an elaborate ruse to keep Ontario to yourself but I just took it off my list:D

They are sure fierce little buggers, I will never forget my run in with them in South Carolina. I was miserable for days.

I’ll be following this thread for preventative measures;)

iv_wjb

Reaction score
Wow - I had no idea we had fire ants in our area. Sorry to hear of your experience with them. Thanks for the warning, though!

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
That's an interesting story, I can't offer any real advice other then glancing down at your waders every now and then. I do know those fire ants can sting like the dickens.

stenacron

Reaction score
Might want to contact regional biologists and report your find.