Hello from Salt Lake City!

rorschah

Reaction score
First time poster! I’m a teacher in Salt Lake City. I’ve been fly-fishing (obsessively) for 6 months now.

I actually first tried to learn how to flyfish in Los Angeles, 15 years ago. Turned out: tough place to do that. Later, I moved to Salt Lake City. I didn’t actually take up flyfishing again at first - I was too busy rock climbing. Occasionally I’d take a spin rod with me hiking. But this last summer, I was so burned out from Zoom teaching and writing my first book, that I needed to take a long break. Learning to flyfish turned out to be the perfect thing. I love it, and it was also somehow just the right thing to cure my Zoom-burned-out mind.

Over the course of 6 months, I’ve gone from total klutz who can’t cast a thing and trips over his own line, to starting to be able to get some fish in the easy high-mountain lakes, to being able to fish semi-effectively in the tough overfished rivers (the Provo), to a high point of catching a big (for me) brown on a dry one beautiful sunset at the Green River.

Oh - maybe funny to some of you - professionally, I research about the philosophy of games. I wrote a book about the beauty of games - and my definition of “game” includes board games, sports, card games, and video games. (The book is here, for the curious: https://oxford.universitypressschol.../oso/9780190052089.001.0001/oso-9780190052089 )

Too bad I hadn't discovered fly-fishing when I wrote it - it would have been another perfect example of a game whose rules and goals push you into beautiful puzzle-solving and beautiful motion.

-thi

iv_wjb

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! You’re certainly in a beautiful part of the world to enjoy the outdoors... Utah is one of my favourite places to visit. Congratulations on your book & all the best in your adventures in fly fishing!

new2flyfishing

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! Wishing you success with your book!

Denny