Hello from SC

Southerncaster

Reaction score
I've been aware of this website for a while --whenever doing a searches on FF gear, this site always came up, but I had constant trouble with my computer crashing whenever trying to access it using I.E. So today I switched over to firefox and no problems so far. So, hello!

I've been fly fishing for approximately 37 years now. Started off in saltwater when living in west cental FL during the 1980s. Now, in my home state of SC, I primarily fish for stripers, smallies & trout, with occasional forays back to the salt.

I have some pretty good ff tackle and enjoy using it, although most of it is becoming as vintage as I am. I'm currently in the studying phase of getting a couple new rods for my 8 & 9 wt reels & lines.

I started learning to build rods in the early '80s --with my very first being 7.5ft 3wt on an early Loomis blank.

I also enjoy rebuilding, restoring and upgrading most all other types of fishing reels, primarily vintage (i.e., baitcasters, spinning reels, & Penn conventional saltwater reels), but that's as much as I'll say on that!!:)

bigjim5589

Reaction score
Welcome! I'm in SC too, Near the lower end of Lake Marion! I'm a transplant from MD. Love it here! :D

I never got into building rods, but do tie flies & make lures. Been doing both a very long time.

I understand your comment about the gear becoming as vintage as you are. I'm not quite that bad, but getting there. Some I use dates back into the 90's when I acquired it. Some is older, but I obtained it since the 90's. I had a house fire years ago ('86), and lost most of what I had then, which really wasn't a lot.

I also have a good number of older casting, spinning & trolling equipment. I enjoy fly fishing the most, but don't overlook the other methods. I have several older Penn's and ABU's that I use. The older I get the more I appreciate that older gear! ;)