HELP! New SPEY ROD and not sure what line to use!!!

simms

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I just picked up a 8139-4 VT2 (Spey Rod) SAGE. I have had an itch to get into SPEY RODS for a while, and with the spring steelhead run coming into full tilt, its time to swing some big and uglies!!! And for that, the SPEY ROD is the choice!!
For my nymph/bead fishing on the larger rivers, I have my NRX 10' cannon, however i want to get into SPEY fishing...

SO, now, the hARD PART comes...

What line is best for this sage vt2, and what style?

Again, I will be mostly fishing OUT and DOWN type presentations...So not sure if a spey is what I need, scandi line, or skagit?

I hope someone can shed some light on this for me!!! thank you guys!!!!!

fyshstykr

Reaction score
I'm still relatively new to the two-hander game myself, I have an older 14' 8-9 Loomis GL3.

My understanding is that for "big and ugly" and Throwing heavy sink tips, that a Skagit line is the way to go and makes playing that part of the game easier. I am currently using a 550gr Skagit with a floating head for most of what I've done.
If I may also recommend picking up a copy of 'Skagit master' for learning the basic cast associated with this type of line. Ed Ward has a way of teaching that worked well for me. While I wouldn't consider myself a great Skagit caster yet, I'm very comfortable at this point in my abilities.

I'm sure Mosca (Dennis) will be along shortly to help in any way he can.

Your gonna really have a lot of fun doing this!:)

Last edited:

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score