hydrogen trout Spey 2wt or something else?

Mlatimer

Reaction score
I’ve been seriously considering taking the dive into trout Spey lately and have been looking at the Redington hydrogen trout Spey in the 2wt. Anybody used this rod in this weight? What lines work best for this rod? What size flys/streamers am I limited to? I’m not looking to toss big meat and a sink tip 150ft, but I’d like to be able to put a bead head wooly bugger or cone head sculpin out there a good ways. I know going up a weight or two would give me more power but I’m only going to be catching 10-15” trout so I don’t really want a huge rod. Also a hydrogen trout Spey in any weight higher than 2 has been impossible to locate new since it’s discontinuation. I’m open to other rods but I’d like to keep it under 350-400 or less since I’m new to Spey. Could I get away with something like a rio Skagit integrated line for simplicity for a new guy or would I be better off going the shooting head with mono running line to try and maximize distance?

Ard

Administrator
Reaction score
Hi,

I have a very narrow view on the super light rods which often does not find support among those who promote them. If all the flies you intend to use are small and light and there is very little chance of hooking a 2 foot fish then it'll be fun. However, if you think that you may want to be casting larger and weighted streamers along with sink tips I figure you're gonna struggle with a 2 weight. I trout fish with an 11 1/2 foot Hardy Swift 7 weight. The 475 grain Scandi line will push out any fly I tie onto the tippet. When I say 'push out' I mean to 80 foot or greater lengths if conditions are acceptable for long line fishing. I can also scale down my leader and easily fish small flies in shallow waters. A 2 weight will fish the small stuff but not the big and therein lies the difference.