Motor Recommendations

Hardscrabble

Reaction score
Not a drifter, but...
I have a Water Master Bruin (2-3 man) on the way. Rich says the transom mount will handle something up to 5hp and recommends a 50fp trolling motor. It’s been a while since I was in the market.
I fish a couple tailwaters (Clinch, Caney Fork, etc in Tennessee) where it’s easy to push up a mile or two and drift down if it’s a solo trip, and no requirement for a shuttle.
I would appreciate any recommendations: trolling motor, battery, small kicker that won’t go to the dump after a season.

osseous

Reaction score
Tohatsu 3.5 hp. $995 online

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using Tapatalk

tcorfey

Reaction score
I think it could be a good idea to go with gas. Gas tank is builtin so no extra hoses or anything. The weight of a 2.5hp gas motor is less than the weight of a battery and less than the weight of a 55lb thrust Minn Kota.

Battery is around 50-60 lbs could go Lithium at around 30lbs but price is around 1k.
Minn Kota 55 lb thrust is 45 lbs
Mercury or Tohatsu 2.5 or 3.5 gas is 41 lbs
Suzuki 2,5 gas is 31 lbs

Hardscrabble

Reaction score
Thanks for these responses. I’m looking into this motor. With a 20# anchor hanging off the rear, weight is going to be a consideration. The boat has a big tube and is not rockered, which should help. Most of the time a motor won’t be on it.

tcorfey

Reaction score
Those little kickers (any manufacturer) don’t get very encouraging reviews.
The trick with those small motors is to use non-ethanol gas. If you can't find a station that sells it Home Depot or other similar places sell it in the lawnmower section. Made a huge difference for my small motors on weedwhackers, chainsaws etc... The jets are really small and the ethanol leaves residue that blocks them.

Hardscrabble

Reaction score