Nymph selection resource needed

gptx

Reaction score
I am new to euro nymphing and fly fishing in general but loving it and starting to get the hang of it.

Can anyone recommend a book, or some resource that shows what nymph, or dry fly for that matter, to represent each particular nymph/fly? For instance, what nymphs or dries should be fished to imitate mayflies, caddis, midges, stonefly, etc.? I thought it would be easy to find this info. on the internet but surprisingly I am having a difficult time finding more than or or two flies for each.

Also, a resource for what types of water conditions to fish with each of those flies. I would think a nymph for fast moving water might not perform as well in slow moving water. And maybe a midge is to be fished in faster currents but not slow? I just don't know the answers to these and hoping to find some good guidance on it. Any help appreciated!

silver creek

Reaction score
The major aquatic insects are mayflies, caddis flies, stoneflies, and midges. I have spent 45 years pursuing them. When there are other aquatic river insects like Alder Flies, Dobson Flies, and lake insects like damselflies and dragonflies.

You are not going to find an all encompassing book to that discusses all of them in the detail that you require which is what kind of water type they are found in and what fly pattern to use for each stage and how to fish that pattern at each stage.

For example, Caucci and Nastasi's Hatches II is the book for mayflies but it does not cover all the species. Similarly Caddisflies by Gary LaFountaine and Modern Midges by Takahashi and Hubka can't cover everything.

Troutnut.com will give you a start.

I suggest a beginner's book like Dave Whitlock's Guide to Aquatic Trout Foods to give you the big picture before you try reading about specific insects.

Aslo make a sampling net to gather the trout food on your local waters.

https://www.theflyfishingforum.com/...g-fly-size-to-nymph-size.901523/#post-1548295