Possibly dumb question about reel sizing to rod

cwb124

Reaction score
Looking for a reel for my 5wt Orvis H3. Several of the reels I am interested come in one of two sizes.

3-5wt
5-7wt

Which would you lean toward for a 5wt H3? I am leaning smaller/lighter but sometimes spool capacity can be an issue. I also fear 5-7 is a bit heavy and unbalanced.

WNCtroutstalker

Reaction score
I have no experience with that rod, but I tend to opt for the larger reel (e.g., I'd put a 5-6 reel on a 5 wt). That said, if in your shoes I would try various reels (with backing and line on) to see what weight balances best, then look up how much the best match weighs empty and then choose a reel that weighs about the same. Obviously the amount of backing will affect the weight, but as long as the test reel and the reel you decide to purchase have/will have approximately the same amount on I wouldn't think it would make a huge difference.

trev

Reaction score
I'm usually liking bigger capacity reels over smaller capacity reels unless there is a huge weight difference.

flytie09

Reaction score
I agree with all of Kelly's points about reel selection aside from the noise part. I guess I like rap music.

JDR

Reaction score
A lightweight reel on a lightweight rod is not always a good match. I tried it with my lightweight 5wt. and it moved the balance point forward so it was in front of the grip. A larger reel with more mass moved balance back where t belongs, on the cork. I think you should use whatever reel balances the rod to your satisfaction. A proper reel should also meet your line and aesthetic requirements.

(formerly Brook Rookie)

jayr

Reaction score
Looking for a reel for my 5wt Orvis H3. Several of the reels I am interested come in one of two sizes.

3-5wt
5-7wt

Which would you lean toward for a 5wt H3? I am leaning smaller/lighter but sometimes spool capacity can be an issue. I also fear 5-7 is a bit heavy and unbalanced.