Question about deer hair and flies I can tie with it?

bigtasty114

Reaction score
With hunting season coming up, I have a friend that always shoots a deer. He is willing to give me the hair, but neither of us is sure if I can use it and/or how to preserve it.

My questions are:

1. What type of fly can I tie with deer hair? Can I tie a Elk Hair Caddis pattern but use deer hair instead? Is there a difference between Elk and Deer hair?

2. What part of the deer hair should I have saved and given to me? The tail? Parts of the body?

3. Besides putting it in a sealed bag, is there anything else I need to do to preserve it?

Thanks for any help I am not a hunter but I am new to fly tying and just don't want his deer hair to go to waste if I can use it for free.

goofnoff1

Reaction score
There are all kinds of differences in deer hair and there is much inormation on the net. Books have been written on the subject.

Deer hair from all the deer species is enormously useful.

Last edited:

silver creek

Reaction score
With hunting season coming up, I have a friend that always shoots a deer. He is willing to give me the hair, but neither of us is sure if I can use it and/or how to preserve it.

My questions are:

1. What type of fly can I tie with deer hair? Can I tie a Elk Hair Caddis pattern but use deer hair instead? Is there a difference between Elk and Deer hair?

2. What part of the deer hair should I have saved and given to me? The tail? Parts of the body?

3. Besides putting it in a sealed bag, is there anything else I need to do to preserve it?

Thanks for any help I am not a hunter but I am new to fly tying and just don't want his deer hair to go to waste if I can use it for free.
All your answers to question 1 and 2 can be found here:

The ultimate guide to deer hair part 1.

The ultimate guide to deer hair part 2

The ultimate guide to deer hair part 3

As for question #3, the easiest solution but the most expensive is to have the entire hide tanned.