Saltwater Fly Box For Wade Fishing

dswice

Reaction score
I'm just getting into wade fishing in saltwater and I'd like to know what fly box(es) work well in this situation. This will mainly be in calmer areas, so I do not anticipate fighting big waves. and getting soaked. I want something small enough to carry in my pocket if possible (prefer not to use a pack or sling). Thanks.

original cormorant

Reaction score
You probably need to be more specific about what you are doing - tropical flats, cooler water wet wading or waders.
If you're wearing waders there's a lot you can tuck inside them. An aquapak or similar is vital for phone and car keys.

When I'm wading light all of my "consumables" are in a small double sided water-proof fly box. In one side are standard flies and in the other side a couple of poppers and bigger ugly flies, a spool of tippet and a couple of wire bite tippets. This fits in my pocket and if it falls out it floats(it has done!). Since I stopped wearing flats shirts I have to use my trouser pockets so it's vital the box is waterproof.
Nippers are on a lanyard. Dependent on where and when I may have leatherman and pliers on my belt.

If I need to carry food, water,waterproofs or whatever then I use a slingpack and more stuff that I probably won't need.

dswice

Reaction score
You probably need to be more specific about what you are doing - tropical flats, cooler water wet wading or waders.
If you're wearing waders there's a lot you can tuck inside them. An aquapak or similar is vital for phone and car keys.

When I'm wading light all of my "consumables" are in a small double sided water-proof fly box. In one side are standard flies and in the other side a couple of poppers and bigger ugly flies, a spool of tippet and a couple of wire bite tippets. This fits in my pocket and if it falls out it floats(it has done!). Since I stopped wearing flats shirts I have to use my trouser pockets so it's vital the box is waterproof.