Steelhead Techniques

Northcountryman

Reaction score
The other day when I was fishing for Kings , I noticed some guy standing about 50 yards downstream of us in front of the dam fishing and he catching Steelhead. As I was wading back for the day- and due to my inquisitive nature, I guess, lol- I stopped and chatted w him for a few , initiating contact w him via netting his fish for him. As we talked , I noticed his setup: centerpinrod/reel , adjustable float and rubber or plastic egg as bait/lure. He was casting downstream in the current wash and just letting the bobber do its work. Ive never seen this style of fishing before but had heard of it. I guess the steelies are coming up from the lake to feed on eggs from the King salmon spawn, correct? Although I've never tried for Steelhead before, I'd love to give it a try on my Flyrod. I'd imitate his method I guess by rigging up a nymphing setup, maybe 2 fly w/ egg pattern as a dropper, and slap a thingmabobber on the butt section for the drift. What do you think? Thanks :)

Unknownflyman

Reaction score
Here you go, mono rigs, beads and spawn all day long. Good luck to you! Catch way more fish all the time.

MichaelCPA

Reaction score
Agree that you can use a mono rig and water-load cast an indicator and egg pattern with most fly rods, single hand or double. I have also done this for Chinooks. Just keep the line off of the water (casting up and across).

The centrepin crew can really catch a lot of fish. What is different (I think) is that they are always upstream of the fish, never line the pool.

Last edited:

MichaelCPA

Reaction score
Here you go, mono rigs, beads and spawn all day long. Good luck to you! Catch way more fish all the time.

Lol! Interesting discussion:

Lamarsh

Reaction score