Struggling with Large Mouth Bass

mike126

Reaction score
It seems I just can't make fly fishing for LMB work for me. My son and I get out about once a week kayak fishing on local lakes and reservoirs. I fly fish and use conventional gear and he uses conventional gear exclusively. We start the day launching at sunrise and head for grass beds that should be holding bass. I start on the fly rod with a foam or deer hair popper or deer hair Dahlberg diver tied on. I wait for the ripples to dissipate after casting on the edge of the grass and then generally vary the retrieves with either a sequence of short pops or a pop and wait. Only a couple of times have I had any interest and no hook ups (my strip set does not get much practice!).

My son on the other had will throw a frog or crayfish and will get hits. Later in the morning I'll put the fly rod away and move to conventional gear and fish deeper water holding fish. I usually connect with a few.

I am a fairly seasoned veteran with the fly rod having fished one for the past 30+ years. In the fall and winter I move back to the trout streams and fish in heavily fished waters so I know what its like to go home skunked when the fish just are not taking a fly. But I will pretty much always get trout to show interest. I just can't seem to get the LMB lake fishing to work for me.... It's starting to drive me nuts!

ArcherA

Reaction score
Even for conventional, I've always found topwater to be way more hit and miss as to action than other baits. I now fish almost exclusively fly for large-mouths. I have not noticed any reduced biting activity for the same water I fish almost daily. As suggested above, I have found woolly buggers great, as well as bass crawlers, clousers, and many others.

goofnoff1

Reaction score