The Three Most Common Casting Mistakes

kevind62

Reaction score
I used to consider myself a rookie and novice. After 7 short years of practice I would now say I am a high level expert or lower level master. I have perfected all of the above flaws to the point I can perform each of them with my eyes closed and without effort or thought. :D

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
I used to consider myself a rookie and novice. After 7 short years of practice I would now say I am a high level expert or lower level master. I have perfected all of the above flaws to the point I can perform each of them with my eyes closed and without effort or thought. :D
Kevin: I can confirm everything you said, but somehow you seem to catch lots of fish, keep doing what you do, it works! LOL!
Of course you know I'm kidding!

brokeoff

Reaction score
Wait! I thought it was supposed to be a gradual acceleration to a stop?!?!

patrick62

Reaction score
It's amusing to see someone who is good trying to make bad casts for educational purposes. The point is made but I've seen some much more egregious examples. (Not by me of course.)

When I'm teaching a newcomer I find the number one problem is too many false casts, closely followed by the related too much line flopping around problem. Call them 1 and 1a.

Number two, which the video touches on, is force. My guys don't put enough into it, pure and simple. I think they are afraid of breaking the rod. I really have to drill them hard on this one.

LOC

Reaction score
Semantics, fly casting and Ah ha!

So I've had trouble with creep and the tailing loop but probably not what your think.
To clarify, I've had trouble using creep and purposely trying to make a tailing loop.