Two newbie questions, re jigs and furled leaders

Ike47

Reaction score
Thanks in advance for any and all help and elucidation! I actually have a lot more than two questions, but they all revolve around two items: jigs and furled leaders. I'm very new to fly fishing and have learned more on this forum than anywhere else (again, thanks!). I've now spent 11 days fly casting, and am yet to get a bite, much less actually catch a fish. :) I fish for trout, primarily in the GSMNP and the tailwaters of Norris Dam (Clinch River, Tennessee). While a lot of my fishing so far has been more for practice and learning than for catching fish, I always have a fly, hopefully appropriate to the location and conditions, when I fish.

1. I always try to learn when I meet another fly angler, and several, when I ask them what flies they use and recommend, mention, in addition to various flies that I am familiar with, that they have a favorite jig they also use. I've done some searching online, but I still don't understand what is particular to a jig (nor do I know if it is properly a type of fly, or if it is an alternative to flies when fly casting). From what I have figured out, what 'defines' a jig is that it is made, in part, by melting some type of plastic onto a hook. While that may define a jig, it doesn't explain at all what makes a jig useful. It seems that jigs usually (always?) has a barbless hook, and (therefore?) is less likely to snag in the water than traditional flies. So, my questions are: in practical terms, what is a jig? Why do anglers, after naming a variety of specific fly types they use, seem always to refer to only 'a jig', with no name attached? Would a jig be useful to an inexperienced fly angler trying to catch trout? If so, in what circumstances should it be used instead of a nymph or, say, a woolly bugger? And if yes, to all the above, any recommendations on any specific jig to buy?