Uses of the Bimini Twist?

Gamecox09

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to fly fishing (2 years of trout fishing) and have recently moved to Charleston, SC. I've been practicing multiple knots for saltwater fly fishing this winter and have the Bimini Twist down pat. However, I'm unsure how to use that. Can anyone explain?

bonefish41

Reaction score
The BT is primarily conventional blue water for double line purposes; old days of marginal line or even today for giants Marlin Tuna...above 20 lbs 30 feet of double and 30 feet of leader...20 below 15/15...so you have double the line class for 30 and unlimited leader for 30. the thought of 1000lb Blue Fin or Blue Marlin doubled 130 now 30' of 260 then 30' feet of 300 fluro with couple turns on your 130 International and 70 lbs of drag I can feel my shoulders pop and .....as for fly fishing short BT for leader then to class tippet then to bite/shock...usually Tarpon or blue water...but not really necessary with modern leader material...don't need doble line for extra strength because your class break is 10, 8, 6 kgs and if you want to go no class IGFA then it's whatever you can cast the fly...30,40 50 straight

original cormorant

Reaction score
There are normally two uses for bimini's, for backing and for class tippets. For backing it's essentially to create a loop and for class tippets it's to create doubled line.

For backing it's to create a loop for loop to looping onto a loop on the backend of the flyline. I and many others make a very big loop so it can be doubled over to create a double loop to spread the load on the fly line loop. (a simple surgeons loop can be used to make this doubled loop.) The loop to loop can also be made two or three times to make a bigger catspaw. A blind splice can be used to make a loop in hollow backing instead of a bimini.